T +33388413193 F +33390214134 <a href="http://assembly.coe.int">http://assembly.coe.int</a> pace.com@coe.int

Ref. PACE 089 (2012)

## Corciano (Italy) and Sighișoara (Romania) win the 2012 Europe Prize

Strasbourg, 26.04.2012 – The 2012 Europe Prize has been awarded to the towns of Corciano (Italy) and Sighişoara (Romania). This decision was taken unanimously by the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development of the Council of Europe's Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) at its April plenary session in Strasbourg.

Through this choice, the committee wanted to reward on the one hand a town from Western Europe – and more particularly from Italy, a country which regularly participates in the competition – and on the other hand a town from central Europe, Sighişoara, the first Romanian town to be awarded the Europe Prize.

Situated in the province of Perugia, Corciano developed three solid twinnings with Civrieux d'Azergues in France, Pentling in Germany and Libiaz in Poland. Through its numerous common projects (development of rural tourism, school exchanges, solidarity work in developing countries), Corciano shows that people from all levels of society can meet and experience European understanding. Having already won the Council of Europe Flag of Honour in 2002 and the Plaque of Honour in 2006, Corciano is the eighth Italian winner of this high distinction.

Through its six twinnings (Blois in France, Kiskunfelegyhaza in Hungary, Dinkelsbühl in Germany, Baden in Switzerland, Castello in Italy and Zamosc in Poland), the Romanian town of Sighişoara, in the Mures County, has developed a very dense network of international contacts, in particular thanks to large cultural events such as the "Medieval Art Festival", the "Academic Music Festival" or the "ProEtnica Intercultural Festival" organised every year. This multicultural and multi-ethnic character of Sighişoara is also to be found in the many youth exchanges with its twin towns.

Created by PACE in 1955, the Europe Prize is the highest distinction that can be bestowed on a European town for its actions in the European domain. The prize consists of a trophy, a medal, a diploma and a scholarship to be spent on a study visit within Europe for young people from the winning town.

\* \* \*

The **Plaque of Honour**, which is the second highest distinction after the Europe Prize, was awarded to twelve municipalities:

France Amilly (Loiret)
Germany Augsburg (Bavaria)

Nordhorn (Lower Saxony)

Waltenhofen (Bavaria)
Lugo (Province of Ravenna)
Panevėžys (Panevėžys Count

Lithuania Panevėžys (Panevėžys County)
Poland Bolesławiec (Dolnośląskie voivodship)

Malbork (Pomorskie voivodship)

Spain Lleida (Catalonia)

Switzerland Neuchâtel (Neuchâtel Canton)

Ukraine Ivano-Frankivsk

United Kingdom Rushmoor Borough Council (Hampshire)

The **Flag of Honour** was awarded to 17 municipalities this year:

Croatia Cres (County of Primorje-Gorski kotar)

France Le Vésinet (Yvelines)

Massy (Yvelines)

Italy

Neuflize (Ardennes) Sète (Hérault) Germany Bergen auf Rügen (Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania)

Bretten (Baden-Württemberg) Durbach (Baden-Württemberg)

Ingolstadt (Bavaria) Stein (Bavaria)

Italy Cervia (Province of Ravenna) Lithuania Šalčininkai (Vilnius County)

Poland Puławy (Lubelskie voivodship)

Sopot (Pomorskie voivodship) Sulęcin (Lubuskie voivodship)

Russia Volgograd (Volgograd Oblast)

United Kingdom Wigan (Greater Manchester)

## 12 municipalities were granted the **European Diploma**:

France Parthenay (Deux-Sèvres)

Triel-sur-Seine (Yvelines)

Germany Herten (North Rhine-Westphalia)

Neudrossenfeld (Bavaria)

Italy Cerrione (Province of Biella)

San Benedetto del Tronto (Province of Ascoli Piceno)

Scapoli (Province of Isernia)

Poland Mława (Mazowieckie voivodship)

Portugal Lousada (District of Porto)

Romania Mioveni (Argeş County)

Turkey Gaziantep (South-East Anatolia)

Safranbolu (Province of Karabük)



The Assembly brings together 318 members from the national parliaments of the 47 member states. President: Jean-Claude Mignon (EPP/CD) - Secretary General of the Assembly: Wojciech Sawicki. Political groups: EPP/CD (Group of the European People's Party); SOC (Socialist Group); EDG (European Democrat Group); ALDE (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe); UEL (Group of the Unified European Left).